Reynoso-Velasco, Daniel, 2017, New combinations, status, and species of Neotropical Ambrysini (Heteroptera: Naucoridae: Cryphocricinae), Zootaxa 4323 (4), pp. 503-518: 504

publication ID

publication LSID

persistent identifier

treatment provided by


scientific name



Tribe Ambrysini  Stål

The tribe Ambrysini  currently comprises four genera, Ambrysus  , Cataractocoris Usinger  , Carvalhoiella  , and Hygropetrocoris  ; a fifth genus ( Picrops  ) is proposed here. The unifying feature of all genera in this tribe is that the propleura extend mesad to meet at the midline, thereby concealing most or all of the prosternellum. Cataractocoris  was recently revised ( Sites et al. 2013) and includes three species in Mesoamerica. Carvalhoiella  also was recently revised ( Rodrigues et al. 2016) and includes five species in the Neotropics. Hygropetrocoris  is monotypic and was described from two male specimens collected on a rock seep in Guyana ( Sites 2015). Ambrysus  occurs from the northwestern United States ( La Rivers 1951, Clark 2014) south to Argentina ( La Rivers 1971) and its 92 species make it the most species-rich genus of Naucoridae  (see Reynoso-Velasco et al. 2016, Reynoso-Velasco & Sites 2016a, b).